# Peace Agreement Access Tool PA-X https://www.peaceagreements.org/

Country/entity	South Sudan
Region	Africa (excl MENA)
Agreement name	Gogrial Agreement (between Twic, Aweil East, Aweil South and Gogrial West Counties)
Date	13 Jul 2013
Agreement status	Multiparty signed/agreed
Interim arrangement	Yes

## Sudan Conflicts (1955 - )

Agreements relate to several distinct dyads, and also the negotiated independence of South Sudan, and subsequent internal conflict in South Sudan. Sudan-South Sudan. The long-standing conflict between the north and the south of the country dates back to colonial times, where the British introduced a so-called 'Southern Policy', severely hampering population movements between these big regions. Immediately after gaining independence in 1956, southern movements started to fight for independence; this fight became professionalised in 1983 with the foundation of the soon internationally supported Sudan People's Liberation Army (SPLA). When the Islamic Front government introduced strict sharia laws in the south after it took over power in 1988 the war intensified. A decade later, the military situation reached a stalemate, enabling internationally facilitated peace negotiations to begin in 1997. After more fighting, a final negotiation push began in 2002, leading to the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Areement (CPA) in January 2005.

Sudan-South Sudan post referendum. South Sudan became independent in July 2011; since then, relations between the two countries are complicated and violent conflict led by the SPLM (North) in the Sudanese Nuba mountains region has since intensified.

Darfur. Other long-standing violent conflicts are in the east and the west of the country. In the east, the Beja Congress, established in 1957, is the spearhead of a currently 'peaceful' opposition movement. In the west, the violent conflict in Darfur intensified in the early 2000s and rapidly gained international attention, even resulting in genocide charges against leading figures of the Sudanese government. The situation on the ground is complex, with over a dozen organisations (most notably the Sudanese Liberation Movement and the Justice and Equality Movement) fighting the Sudanese government and allied groups like the Janjaweed – although all parties have switched sides on numerous occasions. Several mediation attempts have not been successful, due to the shaky commitment of the Sudanese central government and the distrust among the armed opposition.

## South Sudan - internal

In December 2013, after president Salva Kiir accused opposition leader Riek Machar of attempting a coup, violent conflict broke out between government forces of the SPLM/A and anti-governmental groups. In addition, several other political militias as well as communal militias have joined the conflict. In 2015 the Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan (ARCSS) was signed. Due to unsuccessful implementation the agreement was revitalized in 2018. In September 2019, Kiir and Machar agreed to establish a power-sharing government after struggles on forming a unity transitional government.

Close Sudan Conflicts (1955 -)

 Stage
 Framework/substantive - partial

Conflict nature Inter-group

#### Peace process South Sudan: Post-secession Local agreements

Parties

Four counties of Warrap State and Northern Bahr el Ghazal States (being Twic, Aweil East, Aweil South and Gogrial West;

Aweil South County

- 1. Paramount Chief Piol Geng Ariath [Signed]
- 2. Paramount Chief Luis Deng Dut Jok [Signed]
- 3. Paramount Chief Ayom Akol Wek [Signed]
- 4. Women Rep Achol Athian Athian [Signed]

## Aweil East County

- 5. Ngong Deng Ngong Paramount Chief [Signed]
- 6. Garand Rual Deng Paramount Chief [Signed]
- 7. Atem Geng Atem Paramount Chief [Not Signed]
- 8. Arol Kuol Makuac Paramount Chief [Signed]
- 9. Deng Pioth Yai Paramount Chief [Signed]
- 10. Lual Malong Yor Paramount Chief [Signed]
- 11. Amet Maboir Yel Executive Chief [Signed]
- 12. Akoon Tong Akoon Executive Chief [Not Signed]
- 13. Ngong Chan AKOL Youth Leader [Signed]

### **Twic County**

- 14. Longar Awic Ayuel Paramount Chief [Signed]
  15. Garangdit Nyuol Bok Paramount Chief [Signed]
  16. Awan Gak Ajak Paramount Chief [Signed]
  17. Malek Malek Deng Paramount Chief [Signed]
  18. Lual Lial Paramount Chief [Finger print]
  19. Atem Choi Atem Paramount Chief [Signed]
- 20. Aguek Matiop Mulo Women Rep. [Signed]
- 21. Salva Nyuol Mathian Youth Rep. [Signed]

**Gogrial West County** 

- 22. Aru Luac Korr Executive Chief [Signed]
- 23. Malual Dut Akon Executive Chief [Signed]
- 24. Chan Mawwien Akol Executive Chief [Finger Print]
- 25. Mathuc Bol Kuol Executive Chief [Signed]
- 26. Aur Mayuot Akol Women Rep. [Signed]
- 27. Angelo Aguok Kur Aguok Youth Rep. [Signed]
- 28. Manyuat Deng Nhommuot Ex-Chief [Signed]
- 29. Ayom Wek Kuanyin Paramount Chief [Finger Print]
- 30. Monydeng Akok Wol Ex-Chief [Signed]

Third parties	Witnesses: 1. Hon. Makuc Aru Luac – Commission, Gogrial West County [Signed] 2. Hon. Wet Kiir Awet – Commissioner, Aweil East County [Signed] 3. Hon. Malek Riing Makuei – Commissioner, Twic County [Signed] 4. Hon. Jel Mongok Jel – Commissioner, Aweil South County [Signed]	
Description	13-point agreement between 4 counties of Bahr el Ghazal and Warrap states in South Sudan outlining a commitment to peace, recommending the creation of an arbitration body, recommending the formation of courts to resolve disputes that cannot be arbitrated, commit to sharing common local resources, recomment establishment of police posts in conflict prine areas and call on the disemmination of this agreement over radio. Lastly the agreement calls for specific penalties for murder, homicide and cattle rustling.	
Agreement document	SS_130713_Gogrial Agreement.pdf (opens in new tab)   Download PDF	
Women, girls and gender		
Participation	No specific mention.	
Equality	No specific mention.	
Particular groups o women	<b>f</b> No specific mention.	
International law	No specific mention.	
New institutions	No specific mention.	
Violence against women	No specific mention.	
Transitional justice	No specific mention.	
Institutional reform	No specific mention.	
Development	No specific mention.	

Implementation	Implementation→Signing or witnessing agreement Page 2, Signatories: Aweil South County 4. Women Rep Achol Athian Athian [Signed]
	Page 3, Signatories: Twic County 20. Aguek Matiop Mulo – Women Rep. [Signed] Gogrial West County 26. Aur Mayuot Akol – Women Rep. [Signed]
Other	No specific mention.