MEDJUGORJE AGREEMENT (signed on 18 May 1993)

"In the meeting convened by President TUDJMAN, and under the aegis of UNPROFOR, held in Medjugorje on 18 May, attended, in the first part of the meeting, by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Denmark, the Minister of Defence of Spain and Mr. IZETBEGOVIĆ, Mr. BOBAN and their delegations and the cochairmen of the International Conference on the Former Yugoslavia, the following paragraphs of the agreement were agreed on the basis of the determination of the parties to work towards the implementation of the Peace Plan for Bosnia and Herzegovina. With that in mind, the parties have decided to act with the purpose of having the plan accepted by the Bosnian Serbs, on the implementation of the Vance-Owen plan to the extent possible, as was agreed in Zagreb on 24 April.

I Temporary provincial government

The temporary provincial government of the provinces of Mostar, Travnik and Zenica shall be organised immediately in accordance with the following pattern (see the paragraph of the Agreement on the provisional administration).

MOSTAR: Governor a Croat, vice-governor a Muslim; make-up of the governing body: five Croats, three Muslims and two open /posts/;

TRAVNIK: Governor a Croat, vice-governor a Muslim; make-up of the governing body: five Croats, four Muslims and one open post;

ZENICA: Governor a Muslim, vice-governor a Croat; the make-up of the governing body: six Muslims, two Croats and two open posts.

The provincial police shall be under the control of the provincial government, and its composition shall be in accordance with the structure of the population based on the 1991 census (see paragraph g of the Agreement on the provisional administration).

II Temporary commissioner for human rights

It has been agreed that the temporary commissioner for human rights shall be appointed following the discussion and that a Mission for the supervision of human rights shall be established in the provinces of Mostar, Travnik and Zenica (see paragraph h of the Agreement on the provisional administration).

III Public legal officer

It has been agreed that the co-chairmen shall appoint a legal public officer immediately. It has also been agreed that both sides shall nominate a /candidate for the/ public legal officer to the co-chairmen.

IV Coordinating body

It has been confirmed that the following persons shall make up the Coordinating body, as agreed in Zagreb on 24 April: Mr. Mate BOBAN; Mr. Mile AKMADŽIĆ; Mr. Franjo BORAS; Mr. Alija IZETBEGOVIĆ; Mr. Ejup GANIĆ and Mr. Fikret ABDIĆ. The co-chairmen withhold the right to invite the Bosnian Serbs to nominate three representatives for the Coordinating body after consulting the two sides and once they are convinced that conditions exist for a productive cooperation.

V Central government

It has been agreed that, in accordance with the existing organisation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the following changes should be made:

The Military Council of Four is established (see the separate military agreement), consisting of the following:

- Mr. Mate BOBAN;
- Mr. Alija IZETBEGOVIĆ;
- Mr. Mile AKMADŽIĆ;
- Mr. Ejup GANIĆ.

It has also been agreed that the members of the Coordinating body, although they have no constitutional power to establish a provisional presidency shall, despite that, not hold positions in the Government of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Consequently, the appointed members shall leave their posts.

It has been agreed that Mr. PRLIC shall be the Prime Minister. After meetings and consultations, Mr. PRLIC shall propose a well-balanced government, including members from the other parties, to the Coordinating body, for their approval. If no consensus is reached, the co-chairmen of the MKBJ /International Conference on the Former Yugoslavia/ shall be invited to resolve the differences.

Regardless of this agreement, the permanent representative of Bosnia and Herzegovina in the United Nations, Mr. Muhamed SAĆIRBEJ, shall continue working. The ambassador in Washington shall be replaced and /a new one/ shall be appointed by the Croatian delegation that shall also nominate the ambassador in Bonn. The recently-appointed ambassador in Paris shall remain in that post.

VI Military agreement

Generals PETKOVIĆ and HALILOVIĆ have agreed that they have still not been able to implement the agreement they signed on 25 April in Zagreb and on 12 May in Medjugorje. They agreed to do it now, straight away and fully. They agreed that the first step in that process will be the cessation of hostilities in the area under their control, that will take effect at 1200 hours of 19 May, followed by the separation of forces and a withdrawal of their forces into the barracks, as well as by an implementation of the other measures stipulated by the agreement of 12 May. Furthermore, once the situation in the country is settled down, they shall organise the structure of the joint command pursuant to the provisions of the agreement of 25 April. They have also agreed to work under the administration of the Military Council, consisting of the president Mr. Mate BOBAN, Mr. Alija IZETBEGOVIĆ, Mr. Mile AKMADŽIĆ and Mr. Ejup GANIĆ.

VII Release of detainees

It has been agreed that all the persons under arrest that are still in detention shall be freed immediately and that the recommendations of the Joint Commission which has been established by this conclusion, shall be implemented in good faith. The head of the Joint Commission is Jan EGELAND, the state secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Norway, Mr. STOLTENBERG's deputy. VIII The next meeting of the Coordinating body shall be held during the week starting on 24 May, the same week when the co-chairmen are expected to visit Belgrade.